Times editor-in-chief named ‘Student Journalist of the Year’ at ICMA awards

Times editor-in-chief and ICMA’s Student Journalist of the Year Jada Veasey. (photo by Joe Sheller)

In years past, the Times has taken several first-place awards at the Iowa College Media Association awards, and this year was no different–with the exception that a first first was awarded to a Mount Mercy student. Senior Jada Veasey, Times editor-in-chief, won the Pat Pisarik Student Journalist of the Year award, a first-time honor for MMU and the Times. What makes this journalism award even more remarkable is that Veasey is not a journalism student herself, but a nursing major.

“(She) is basically the most outstanding student journalist in the state of Iowa,” said Joe Sheller, associate professor of communication and adviser to the Times. The judges cited Veasey’s leadership in covering the pandemic as a factor in her win. Along with a certificate of recognition, the award also comes with a $500 stipend.

Other awards that were given out:

Best Investigative Reporting: Annie Barkalow, 1st place;

Best Staff Editorials: Jada Veasey, Gwen Johnson, Veronica Jons, 1st place;

Best News Front Page: Veronica Jons and Jada Veasey, 1st place;

Best Blog or Vlog: Annie Barkalow, 1st place, and Gwen Johnson, 2nd place, and

Best Headline Writing: Jada Veasey, Veronica Jons and Annie Barkalow, 2nd place.

3 thoughts on “Times editor-in-chief named ‘Student Journalist of the Year’ at ICMA awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s